Shania Twain led the winners at the Canadian Country Music Association Awards (CCMA) on Sunday night (09Sep18), taking home four gongs.

The 53-year-old star, who also presented the ceremony at the FirstOntario Centre in Ontario, Canada, was presented with the Top Selling Album of the Year and Top Selling Canadian Album of the Year for her record Now, while also winning the Apple Music Fans' Choice Award and the Generation Award.

Speaking about her lengthy career, Shania recalled: "My musical influences have always been diverse but country music gave me a home, a place where a fast-talking girl from northern Ontario, who dreamt for bigger things for her and her family, could be heard."

Her hosting spot also gave Shania the chance to encourage the country music industry to give more respect to its female stars, with the Man! I Feel Like I Woman! star telling the crowd: "I'm thrilled to see women in country dominating the album of the year category. But we can go further by recognising a place for diversity in country music by being inclusive and by really respecting what women of country have always been able to deliver: heart, soul and a kick-ass guitar riff."

Other winners at the awards included Jess Moskaluke, who won the Album of the Year prize for Past the Past, Meghan Patrick, who was named Female Artist of the Year, and Dallas Smith, who took home the Male Artist of the Year gong.

Performances came from stars including Jess, Kira Isabella and Madeline Merlo, who performed a medley of Shania's songs before the singer herself joined them to belt out Honey, I'm Home.

Keith Urban also took to the stage to perform his track Never Comin Down, before inducting Terri Clark into the 2018 Hall of Fame.


The main list of winners at the 2018 Canadian Country Music Association Awards is as follows:


FORD Album of the Year: Past the Past " Jess Moskaluke

Apple Music Fans' Choice Award: Shania Twain

Female Artist of the Year: Meghan Patrick

Group or Duo of the Year: The Washboard Union

Male Artist of the Year: Dallas Smith

Sirius XM Rising Star: The Reklaws

Single of the Year: Chills " James Barker Band