Castanet Events

The Price of Victory

Saturday, October 20     10:00 AM

Okanagan Military Museum, 1424 Ellis st., Kelowna Locate on the map

Bookmark and Share

A 30 day truce became an Allied Victory when Germany accepted the Armistice in 1918. After the celebrations died down many sought to make sense of the war, counting their losses and vowing ‘never again.’

Victory was a subjective concept depending on your place in society. The years that followed 1918 brought prosperity and status for some, and poverty and discrimination for others. Veteran programs, debts, internment camps, and advances in medicine and technology would have lasting effects.

The Price of Victory is our fifth and final installment in our WWI exhibition series. Explore the costs, consequences and legacies of the Great War through artefacts, photographs and the perspective of a fictitious soldier newly returned from the war as he copes with the shock of civilian life after years of service.

The Price of Victory runs from May 19, 2018 to April 27, 2019 at the Okanagan Military Museum, 1424 Ellis Street, Kelowna, BC.

https://www.kelownamuseums.ca/exhibits/the-price-of-victory/

Other Dates:

  • Tuesday, October 23 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, October 24 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, October 25 10:00 AM
  • Friday, October 26 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, October 27 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, October 30 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, October 31 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, November 1 10:00 AM
  • Friday, November 2 10:00 AM

132781