Castanet Events

Our Lives Through Our Eyes: Nk'Mip Children's Art

Thursday, January 31     10:00 AM

Okanagan Heritage Museum, 470 Queensway Ave, Kelowna Locate on the map

Bookmark and Share

Our Lives Through Our Eyes: Nk'Mip Children's Art brings together over 75 works of art created by children and youth who attended the Inkameep Day School during the era of World War II. Under the tutelage of Mr. Anthony Walsh, the school, located on the Osoyoos Indian Band reserve, became nationally and internationally renowned for its students’ production of art and drama based on their Okanagan identity and history.

Presented jointly by the Kelowna Museums Society and the Kelowna Art Gallery, the exhibition features artworks on public view for the first time in over 70 years.

Works consist of drawings, paintings and photographs that portray Nk’Mip children’s daily lives, including their cultural and environmental knowledge and experiences.

Our Lives Through Our Eyes: Nk’Mip Children’s Art is curated by Dr. Andrea Walsh and organized collaboratively by the Kelowna Museums Society and the Kelowna Art Gallery, with assistance from the Osoyoos Museum Society and the Osoyoos Indian Band.

The exhibition runs from January 19, 2019 to April 14, 2019 at the Okanagan Heritage Museum and the Kelowna Art Gallery.

https://www.kelownamuseums.ca/exhibits/our-lives-through-our-eyes-nkmip-childrens-art/

Other Dates:

  • Friday, February 1 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, February 2 10:00 AM
  • Monday, February 4 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, February 5 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, February 6 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, February 7 10:00 AM
  • Friday, February 8 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, February 9 10:00 AM
  • Monday, February 11 10:00 AM