Castanet Events

Kelowna's Amusing Past

Saturday, September 21     10:00 AM

Okanagan Heritage Museum, 470 Queensway Ave, Kelowna Locate on the map

Bookmark and Share

Kelowna has had a reputation as a travel-worthy destination for decades. And while wineries and golf courses may be a big part of the draw in 2019, Kelowna has an amusing past that may surprise even some longtime residents.
In the last half of the 20th century, Kelowna gained notoriety as a place of fun. It boasted drive-in theatres, roller rinks, regattas, snowfests, rodeos, parades, zoos, and amusement parks. Tourism ads from the time billed the city as “the fun capital of Canada!!”

Kelowna’s Amusing Past takes a light-hearted look at the city’s bygone amusement sites and the annual festivals that brought the community together. The gallery space comes to life through archival photos, videos and objects, including prehistoric mascots (yabba dabba doooo!), arcade games, memorabilia and a whole lot more.

Come and learn about the Regatta rioters, Snogo, Myta the Smoking Chimp and Kelowna’s very own Walt Disney (with a hint of Bob Ross). Find out what happened to these special spaces and characters.

This exhibition is sure to delight children and adults alike. It runs from August 17, 2019, to November 18, 2019, at the Okanagan Heritage Museum, 470 Queensway Ave, Kelowna, BC.

https://www.kelownamuseums.ca/exhibits/kelownas-amusing-past/

Other Dates:

  • Monday, September 23 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, September 24 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, September 25 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, September 26 10:00 AM
  • Friday, September 27 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, September 28 10:00 AM
  • Monday, September 30 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, October 1 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, October 2 10:00 AM

147145