Castanet Events

BODY LANGUAGE

Sunday, October 21     10:00 AM

Bill Reid Gallery of Northwest Coast Art , 639 Hornby Street Vancouver, BC Canada V6C 2G3, Vancouver Locate on the map

Bookmark and Share

Bill Reid Gallery of Northwest Coast Art, celebrating its 10th anniversary, presents the premiere exhibition, BODY LANGUAGE: Reawakening Cultural Tattooing of the Northwest, on display June 8, 2018 – January 13, 2019. Guest curator Dion Kaszas of the Nlaka’pamux First Nation traces the deep-rooted traditions of Indigenous tattooing, piercing and personal adornment. Prior to the 1885 Potlatch ban, the art of tattooing and piercing was integral to Northwest Indigenous ceremony and social rank. Today, these traditions are re-emerging not as mere decoration, but to provide healing, protection and a meaningful sense of belonging. Uncover the symbolic and distinctive designs for skin, and their relationship to traditional clothing, rock art, jewellery, basketry, and weaving with works by Nakkita Trimble (Nisga’a); Nahaan (Tlingit); Corey Bulpitt (Haida); Dean Hunt (Heiltsuk) and Dion Kaszas (Nlaka’pamux).

Admission details and info at: billreidgallery.ca

https://www.billreidgallery.ca/blogs/exhibitions-page/body-language-reawakening-cultural-tattooing-of-the-northwest

Other Dates:

  • Monday, October 22 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, October 23 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, October 24 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, October 25 10:00 AM
  • Friday, October 26 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, October 27 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, October 28 10:00 AM
  • Monday, October 29 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, October 30 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, October 31 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, November 1 10:00 AM
  • Friday, November 2 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, November 3 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, November 4 10:00 AM
  • Monday, November 5 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, November 6 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, November 7 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, November 8 10:00 AM
  • Friday, November 9 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, November 10 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, November 11 10:00 AM
  • Monday, November 12 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, November 13 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, November 14 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, November 15 10:00 AM
  • Friday, November 16 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, November 17 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, November 18 10:00 AM
  • Monday, November 19 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, November 20 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, November 21 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, November 22 10:00 AM
  • Friday, November 23 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, November 24 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, November 25 10:00 AM
  • Monday, November 26 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, November 27 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, November 28 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, November 29 10:00 AM
  • Friday, November 30 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, December 1 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, December 2 10:00 AM
  • Monday, December 3 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, December 4 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, December 5 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, December 6 10:00 AM
  • Friday, December 7 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, December 8 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, December 9 10:00 AM
  • Monday, December 10 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, December 11 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, December 12 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, December 13 10:00 AM
  • Friday, December 14 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, December 15 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, December 16 10:00 AM
  • Monday, December 17 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, December 18 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, December 19 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, December 20 10:00 AM
  • Friday, December 21 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, December 22 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, December 23 10:00 AM
  • Monday, December 24 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, December 25 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, December 26 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, December 27 10:00 AM
  • Friday, December 28 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, December 29 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, December 30 10:00 AM
  • Monday, December 31 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, January 1 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, January 2 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, January 3 10:00 AM
  • Friday, January 4 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, January 5 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, January 6 10:00 AM
  • Monday, January 7 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, January 8 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, January 9 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, January 10 10:00 AM
  • Friday, January 11 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, January 12 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, January 13 10:00 AM