Castanet Events

Atklokem Art Exhibition

Monday, August 19     10:00 AM

Lake Country Art Gallery, 10356A Bottom Wood Lake Rd, Lake Country Locate on the map

Bookmark and Share

Opening Event Aug 15. 6pm – 8pm

*Atklokem Art Exhibition: A collaboration of contemporary Syilx Art brought together by Okanagan Artist David Wilson: featuring the work of Barb Marchand, Mariel Belanger, the Tule Teepee Group, Sheldon Louis, and the Okanagan Indian Band Youth Group for this Indigenous focused exhibition that will encompass painting, mixed media, sculpture, and performance. Exhibition runs Aug 16 – Sep 29 * Atklokem is an Anglicized version of the Syilx word that describes the area of Winfield. The ward of Winfield sits in the heart of Lake Country, nestles between Wood Lake to the east and Okanagan Lake to the west

Atklokem, with supporting guest curator David Wilson, consists of artworks from Syilx artists Barb Marchand, Sheldon Louis, Mariel Belanger, and the Okanagan Indian Band Youth Group. Visitors to the Lake Country Art Gallery will have an opportunity to learn about Indigenous art practices, both traditional and contemporary.

The opening reception for Atklokem is Thursday, August 15th from 6-8pm at the Lake Country Art Gallery. The exhibition runs from August 16th to September 29th.

https://www.lakecountryartgallery.ca/coming-next.html

Other Dates:

  • Tuesday, August 20 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, August 21 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, August 22 10:00 AM
  • Friday, August 23 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, August 24 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, August 25 10:00 AM
  • Monday, August 26 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, August 27 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, August 28 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, August 29 10:00 AM
  • Friday, August 30 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, August 31 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, September 1 10:00 AM
  • Monday, September 2 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, September 3 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, September 4 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, September 5 10:00 AM
  • Friday, September 6 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, September 7 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, September 8 10:00 AM
  • Monday, September 9 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, September 10 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, September 11 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, September 12 10:00 AM
  • Friday, September 13 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, September 14 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, September 15 10:00 AM
  • Monday, September 16 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, September 17 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, September 18 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, September 19 10:00 AM
  • Friday, September 20 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, September 21 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, September 22 10:00 AM
  • Monday, September 23 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, September 24 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, September 25 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, September 26 10:00 AM
  • Friday, September 27 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, September 28 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, September 29 10:00 AM